From our group, the following doctors have been regularly selected (by confidential peer nomination only) in the list of Best Doctors in America

  • Keith Hruska, MD – continuously from 2004 to 2021
  • Paul Hmiel, MD – continuously from 2005 to 2021
  • Vikas Dharnidharka, MD, MPH – continuously from 2007 to 2021
  • Tara Neumayr, MD – from 2019-2021
  • Carmen Halabi, MD, PhD – from 2019-2021

Several current faculty members have received major national achievement awards

  • In 2019, Vikas Dharnidharka received a 5-year R01 grant from the NIAID branch of NIH on “Metagenomic shotgun microbial sequencing in post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders (PTLD-MSMS)”
  • Carmen Halabi received a K08 award on “Vascular Extracellular matrix in arterial development and disease” from the NHLBI division of NIH in 2017
  • Paul Hmiel: 2015 – 2016 Outstanding Subspecialty Teaching Award, Pediatric Residents of St Louis Children’s Hospital
  • Vikas Dharnidharka is
    • a member of the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology (ASPN) Council since 2020
    • the Chair, Executive Committee of the Section of Nephrology, American Academy of Pediatrics, 2018-2020
    • a member of the Board of Directors of the North American Pediatric Renal Trials and Collaborative Studies (NAPRTCS) since 2017
  • Keith Hruska was an established investigator of the American Heart Association. He is an elected member of the prestigious American Society of Clinical Investigation since 1981 and the Association of American Physicians since 1990. He was President of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research in 2013. He has been NIH-R01 funded consecutively for the past forty years. He has been editor of AJP-Renal, CTI and on the editorial boards of the JBC, Kidney International and JASN.